Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Clipse ft. Rick Ross "I'm Good (remix)" Music Video

A few thoughts on Clipse' just released video for their remixed new single, "I'm Good":

1. It is a complete travesty that Clipse have yet to attain the level of success that they obviously deserve.

2. That, of course, doesn't matter at all.

3. Though the original version was pretty great, this version featuring Rick Ross is actually better. Better flows, better rhymes, and Rick Ross actually adds something worthwhile to the song. Could it be? Has Rick Ross become...a good emcee?!

4. The video is literally chock-full of excess; shark tanks, glasses of champagne, shiny Lambos, guns being used as paperweights for wads of 100s, Close-up after close-up on an assortment of iced-out watches and chains, and Rick Ross lighting up blunt after blunt after blunt are just some of the wonderful images to be found here. Yet somehow they've managed to be unabashedly cliche while at the same time balancing that with a certain realism that's actually quite effective. The club scenes look kinda real and the excess seems quite geniune and almost...heartfelt?

5. Do not sleep on "Til The Casket Drops", set for release on December 8th!

Clipse ft. Rick Ross "I'm Good (remix)"

Monday, November 2, 2009

Chris Brown Unveils (Bad) Album Cover, Rihanna Releases Tracklisting & Announces Tell-All Interview!

So is it just me...or has there been some kinda tit-for-tat thing going on with Chris Brown and Rihanna?

Over the course of the past month, the two have been simultaneously releasing new singles, music video stills, and cover art...like, literally within hours of one another. And today was no exception, with Chris Brown releasing the cover art for his forthcoming album, "Graffiti", and Rihanna unveiling the tracklisting for her upcoming "Rated R" record.

I won't deny that I think Chris Brown is a complete and utter douchebag (an opinion that has been made clear to just about anyone I talk to on a regular basis). However, I will not deny that Brown's Lil Wayne-assisted first single "I Can Transform Ya" is flames. But guys, this album cover looks absolutely ridiculous. What is he going for exactly? He looks like Neo from the Matrix, but the hipster-"rockstar" version or something. Whatever...nobody buys music anymore anyway, so if you're just dying for this new album, I doubt you'll have to grapple with the album cover. Like I said, the song is hot.

Anywayz, Rihanna released the tracklisting for "Rated R" today (which has a far better album cover, imo), and I'd say things are still looking quite promising. Track titles include "Madhouse", "Fire Bomb" and "Cold Case Love", and confirmed guests for the outing include Young Jeezy, Will.I.Am and...Slash?! Check below for the full listing...

And on a side note, a tell-all interview, featuring Rihanna, has been announced as well. Set to be split into two segments, one for Good Morning America this Thursday, and the other to be aired the next night on 20/20. The interview will be Rihanna's first since the infamous altercation with Chris Brown earlier this year.

Set your TiVo's people....

Confirmed tracklisting for Rihanna's "Rated R":
1. Mad House
2. Wait Your Turn
3. Hard featuring Young Jeezy
4. Stupid In Love
5. ROCKSTAR 101 featuring Slash
6. Russian Roulette
7. Fire Bomb
8. Rude Boy
9. Photographs featuring Will.I.Am
10. G4L
11. Te Amo
12. Cold Case Love
13. The Last Song